wtf is a bullet journal?!

Happy Sunday everyone!

Today I’m branching out a bit from the usual stationery goodness. I recently heard about bullet journaling. My first reaction was “what the hell’s that”?! But after a lot of  reading around and (a little too long) scrolling on Pinterest I fell rather in love!

bujoflatlay1

A bullet journal is essentially a flexible notebook that you can use to track, plan and remember. You can use it to note upcoming events,  track personal goals and habits, and write and monitor to do lists. It has a specific system you can follow and adapt, designed by Ryder Carroll, who wanted the bullet journal “to help you track the past, organize the present, and plan for the future” – however you can use as much or as little as this as you want. Watch Ryder’s video to find out more.

Aside from the great structure in the bullet journal layout, what really stood out to me was how visual and  artistic many of them were. And when stationery, to do lists, and art come together, you have me hooked!

bujoflatlay2.JPG

My journal arrived in the post this week and I’m beyond excited to get started! I went for the dotted Leuchtturm 1917 notebook as it has thicker pages to withstand my paints and inks, however you can use any notebook you want.

Traditionally the bullet journal is a way of increasing productivity through careful planning and tracking. However I want to see if I can use my journal as a way of looking after myself. Of decreasing anxiety, increasing self care, and, perhaps surprisingly, slowing down!

bujoopen

I’ll update you with how I’m getting on and what layouts I’m using, but for now here are some of the spreads that have inspired me.

bulletjournalbear

Bulletjournalbear

lovemybujo

Lovemybujo

mellplans

Mellplans

raindoodlie

Raindoodlie

 

One thought on “wtf is a bullet journal?!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑