the daddies of fathers’ day cards

Put your hand up if you find buying Fathers’ Day cards crazy hard (my hand is up and waving frantically).

So many are orientated around cars, or gardening, or tool sheds…and my Dad’s not a particular fan of any of these. Or they’re designed for 5 year olds, as if we stop buying cards for our Dads once we hit puberty.

I’ve been searching the interwebs to try and find Fathers’ day cards that break the mould and are acceptable for us 20yo+ adults to send to these special fellas.

(Disclosure: turns out a disproportionate amount of Fathers’ Day cards are plastered with Dad jokes and word puns. I love both of these things…so prepare yourselves. Though greeting card manufacturers? Hello *waves*, yes you. Could we maybe bring out a couple that are maybe a bit more heartfelt? You know, that are sincere and serious and just tell it how I feel it? That would be grand, thanks.)

Without further fanfare, here’s my round up of my faves of 2017:

The perfect father-child banter of a dig and a compliment in one from Susan O’Hanlon at John Lewis

Father susan ohanlan

 

Simply designed, tells my Dad he’s brilliant: a safe but beautiful bet from Hammond Gower at John Lewis

Father hammond gower

 

I LOVE WORD PLAY. Top of the pops. Pops. Get it?! ‘Course you do. LOVE IT. From Paperchase

Father top of the pops

 

This is a Dad joke even my Dad would be proud of. So bad it’s good. From Paperchase

Father father

 

Paperchase are on a roll here. This one not only has word play, but it’s beautifully designed.

Father cheese

 

Etsy has a few star Fathers Day cards. This one from Kitschy Mumma Prints is everything my Dad would believe.

Father kidnap

 

This last one I’m dedicating to my Grandpa who died this weekend. I wouldn’t normally send my Grandpa a card on Father’s Day, but this year I’m regretting that. If I had the chance again, this is the one I’d send from Handmade by Swans (what a beautiful company name).  Even if you won’t be sending your Grandfather a card this year, give them a call, or an extra special squeeze. With everything that’s going on in the world right now, there’s no better time to be showing the love.

Father grandpa

 

Have a great weekend everyone. For some much-needed light hearted entertainment, leave your fave Dad joke in the comments below.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑