#getcrafty

So it’s day 2 of National Stationery Week! And today’s theme is “Get Crafty”.

For me sketching and painting is the craft that I come back to time and time again. My great grandfather was such a talented watercolour painter, and his various paintings of the Lake District have lined my grandparent’s hallways ever since he died. Memories of my Mum getting out her watercolours feature prominently from my childhood.

My go to art supplies are often nothing fancy (unless I’m doing a special project). In fact, you can get them on the high street. Tiger do some great, affordable art supplies, perfect for everyday art work. My sketching pencils are simple WHSmith ones. My Reeves watercolours were a present a few years ago and are great but fairly cheap.

IMG_2038

To celebrate today’s National Stationery Week theme I got out my watercolours and sketchpad and drew my Mum’s childhood house. We went to visit it recently on a trip to the Lake District and it took my breathe away.

IMG_2039

This took me no more than an hour, and was pure relaxation! I hope this inspires you to do the same x

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑